Easy Come, Easy Go

20 Jan

After setting my new goals just days ago, I excitedly went to sign up for the Blue Cross Broad Street Run today. With a cap at 30,000 runners, it had said they were only at 17,000 this past weekend, so I wasn’t too concerned. When I went to register, it told me there was a technical error and to try later. When I logged on again after work today I was sad devastated to find out that they were suddenly full. As soon as I set my goal, it’s crushed. That would figure, wouldn’t it? Boo to that. After asking around and hearing about the big crowds, entertainment, and nice flat course I was actually really stoked to sign up for it. Plus, I’d practically be running right past my house. How freaking cool is that!? Added to that is the fact that I have Independence Blue Cross (who sponsors the event) so that’s supposed to qualify you for some perks as well, I think. But alas, it just wasn’t meant to be I suppose.

With that said, it still doesn’t change my sights on the ODDyssey Half Marathon at the end of May. I suppose I should register for that soon so I don’t get closed out of that too. There’s nothing like committing to something to light a fire under your butt, eh? Oh boy! But, this one should be particularly fun because it is meant to be a “enjoyable” race – including costume contests and “unique obstacles” [whatever that means?]. The only thing I am a bit concerned about is the location – taking place in Philadelphia’s Fairmount Park, the only thing that comes to mind to me is the few hills around there that I could hardly bike up this past summer. The idea of running them makes me nauseous. But hey – nothing like a good challenge, right? Now I’ll have to get to work on planning my outfit.

Let’s just say, I have a few ideas up my sleeve…

From DailyMail.co.uk.

From the Costume Machine Blog.

From Nintendo World Report.

In fact, I have to admit, the idea that I won’t be bringing my pro- camera along to shoot the event almost pains me. This could be fun. A lot of fun. Have you ever dressed up for a race?

One Response to “Easy Come, Easy Go”

  1. Independence Blue Cross January 21, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I’m sorry that you were unable to sign up for this year’s Blue Cross Broad Street Run. At IBX we value the community that has made the run one of the most popular races in our area, and your support has been part of that.

    At this time you may still be able to sign up as a runner with The American Cancer Society. Back on My Feet and Students Run Philly Style may also have remaining fundraising team spots.

    We hope that you’ll want to run with us again in 2012.

    Sincerely,
    Ask IBX Team

Leave a Reply

