Three Words

17 Jan

Twenty. Degree. Run.

Brrrrrrrrrrr. I’m not sure I would have ever imagined it would go quite like that. I mean, I always see people running when it’s insanely cold out and think to myself man, that’s dedication. Today, folks, I was one of those people. And, though I might still be trying to recover sensation in my toes over it, I am quite proud and excited to have taken the leap. As I pranced along in the twenty degree weather, I realized there are actually a lot of pros to go along with the obvious cons about cold weather running. And, since there is truly nothing like a good list, here goes.

Cons:

  • I still can’t feel my toes.
  • Layering is complicated: How much is too much?
  • Your skin [if it’s anything like mine] may freak out if you immediately get in a hot shower. I got hives!
  • It’s cold. Really cold. Any “warming up” is almost useless as soon as you walk out the door.

Pros:

  • NO SWEATING. Really I can’t stress the awesomeness of this enough.
  • With a proper warm-up inside ahead of time, you are warm enough to move, but cold enough to numb the pain.
  • You are freakin’ hardcore. The glares you get from people will be enough as proof of this.
  • You know those weirdos that jump in place at intersections to keep moving during their runs? You’ll be one of those.
  • Did I mention no sweating?

So, perhaps working out in the cold isn’t so bad after all. Do any of you do it? Any tips or tricks I should know about?

Leave a Reply

